Recipe Review: 5 Step Healthy Cookies

What better way to spend a Fall afternoon than baking cookies? I love to experiment with new recipes. The only downside is that I find myself snacking on sugary baked goods until they’re all gone. The solution? Healthy cookies that really are healthy but don’t taste like it. Let’s see how these turn out!

Prep time: 5 mins

Bake time: 15-20 mins

Note: This recipe could make anywhere from a 10-20 cookies, depending on your choice in size

Start by preheating your oven to 350 degrees.


You’ll need…

BeFunky_befunky_artwork.jpg


Time to measure…

2 ripe bananas (mashed)

2 cups of oats

1/4 cup of chocolate chips

1/4 cup of chopped walnuts

1/4 cup of almond milk (I used unsweetened)

1/3 cup of applesauce (again, unsweetened)

1 tsp vanilla extract

1 tsp cinnamon

1/2 tsp chai spice

Note: I added just a tbsp of flour to help the ingredients bind.

 

Step one…

Simply combine all ingredients in a bowl

Step two…

Mix!

Step three…

Line your baking pans with parchment paper and form the cookies using your hands or a spoon. Make them whatever size you prefer. Just keep in mind that the bigger they are, the longer they will take to cook through.

 

BeFunky_10676849_10152426171097424_2064277088_o.jpg

 

 Step 4…

Bake for 15-20 mins

Check that the cookies are baked through much like you would with a cake by inserting a knife or toothpick to see if any raw batter is left behind

Step 5…

Let cool for 5-10 mins

 

BeFunky_10632875_10152426142562424_1986789523539047779_n.jpg

 

The verdict?

I LOVE this recipe! It may actually be my new favourite. I’ve tried countless recipes for a healthy cookie, and this one comes out on top.  It was simple to make, required minimal cleanup and turned out delicious. I think the chocolate chips are a must, especially if you use unsweetened applesauce. Next time, I’m going to try adding another 1/2 tsp of chai spice.  I put half of these in my cookie jar and the other half individually wrapped in the freezer. These will be perfect to grab in the morning on my way to class or when I want to have a guilt-free treat. These cookies would be a hit with the kiddos too. Just omit the walnuts so they’re nut-free for school! Overall, I’m pleased with the results! You’ve got to try these.

Leave a Reply

