Fall Off the Bone Ribs – AKA Human Ribs

This is part two of a request for some of my Halloween recipes.  Again, I was first inspired to make this ghoulish Halloween food based on a recipe by David Burtka that I found on Food & Wine.com.   David recommends you use beef back ribs as they resemble human ribs, however I use pork side ribs, and trust me they look plenty ghoulish!  This year, I decided to make my usual ‘fall of the bone ribs’ as they are always a crowd pleaser. You can leave the ribs whole or precut them – depending on how you wish to display the ribs.  I prefer to precut mine, as they are easier to serve.

Here’s my recipe (again it was a recipe given to me from a friend, so I don’t know what the original source of this recipe is):

Ribs

Image courtesy of bhg.com

Season both sides of the ribs with salt (I use sea salt) and pepper (I freshly grind mine).  Next you want to completely sear both sides of the ribs – either on high heat on your bbq or in a frying pan (I’ve done both with equally amazing results).  Sear the ribs on all sides until they are brown.  Remove from heat and coat both sides with your favorite bbq sauce (I’m kinda lazy and usually use commercial prepared sauce).

Preheat the oven to 300 degrees and lay the sauce coated ribs on a baking sheet.  Pour one-half cup of liquid (I have used beer and red wine, but water or broth would work too) on the baking sheet and seal completely (very important) with foil.  Bake for one and a half hours, then lower the heat to 250 degrees and bake for another one and a half hours.  Take the ribs out of the oven and remove the sauce from the baking sheet (discard the foil).  You can freeze the ribs at this stage if you plan to serve them another day. Then follow the last step: brush the ribs with more bbq sauce and broil the ribs on the tray in the oven for a few minutes until the sauce on the top has caramelized.  Gently remove the ribs (remember they will ‘fall off the bone’) and transfer to serving platter.

NB I make as much as I can in advance and these ribs are no exception. I made them on Monday and froze them.  Friday I will take them out of the freezer in the morning, let them thaw and then brush them with sauce and broil them right before serving.

Leave a Reply

